Rewards and Recognition

There's no better way to showcase your success than through the reward and recognition provided by Australia’s many prestigious prizes for science and innovation.

A comprehensive list of prizes can be found at Science in Public, and the Australian Academy of Science also maintains an extensive list of awards. Links to some of the most prestigious awards are below.

Australia Wide

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious and highly regarded awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and excellence in science teaching.

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are a unique partnership between government organisations, institutions, companies and individuals committed to Australian science. Prizes are presented annually, rewarding excellence in the fields of:

  • research & innovation
  • leadership
  • science communication
  • school science

The Australian Academy of Science recognises and supports outstanding contributions to the advancement of science through it’s Academy Medal and Honorific Awards.

The GSK Award for Research Excellence is one of the most prestigious awards available to the Australian medical research community. It has been awarded since 1980 to recognise outstanding achievements in medical research and facilitates career development with potential importance to human health and Australian research.

CSL Centenary Fellowships for mid-career medical researchers were established in CSL's centenary year, 2016, to pay tribute to CSL's origins by supporting Australia’s scientific community. Their intent is to foster excellence in Australian medical research by supporting mid-career Australian scientists to pursue world-class research.

CSL Florey Medal for medical research is awarded biennially to an Australian biomedical researcher for significant achievements in biomedical science and / or human health advancement. In addition to the silver medal, the award currently carries a prize of $50,000 due to the support of CSL Limited. This award was established in 1998 by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science in honour of the Australian Nobel Prize-winning scientist, Sir Howard Florey, who developed penicillin. The Florey Medal is part of the Tall Poppy Campaign which aims to recognise and promote scientific and intellectual excellence in Australia.

The Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI) has a number of national awards for achievements in academia, education, innovation and distinction in chemical science, and awards for undergraduate and postgraduate chemistry students, and medicinal chemistry and chemical biology specifically.

The iAwards honour individuals and institutions that innovate to make a difference to society through solving a simple or complex solution, recognising the best innovations and innovative projects from start-ups, mid-sized companies, students, government, corporate, research and academia. The iAwards offer over $75,000 in prize money across 11 categories, hosted by the Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA), a non-profit organisation run by members for members driving innovation in the digital industry.

The Metcalf Prize awards and celebrates two exceptional mid-career stem cell researchers for Stem Cell Research hosted by the National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia. The prizes recognises and honours the exceptional contribution made to stem cell research by Emeritus Professor Donald Metcalf, AC, FRS, FAA, who died in December 2014. The prizes support the National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia’s mission to promote the study and use of stem cells in the prevention or control of disease in human beings and to enhance stem cell public education.


veski innovation fellowships of up to $150,000 aim to 'bring international talent home to Melbourne'. The fellowships cover areas including health and medical research, inspiring women, and science and innovation.

The Victoria Prize celebrates leadership, determination and creativity. It also highlights the many ways in which research and development of international significance are conducted in Victoria. The Victoria Prize for Science & Innovation is worth $50,000 per prize and will be awarded to outstanding science leaders. These prestigious prizes are for a scientific discovery or technological innovation, or a series of such achievements that significantly advances knowledge. The clear potential to produce a commercial outcome or other substantial benefit to the community is highly regarded.


The McCullough Robertson LSQ Industry Excellence Award is presented to an individual that has made significant contributions to the performance and success of the Queensland Life Sciences Industry and will have demonstrated a breadth of impact across the sector.

The Rose-Anne Kelso Commemorative Award was created by Life Sciences Queensland Limited in memory of Rose-Anne Kelso to recognise an individual female’s endeavours and passion and dedication to the health and life sciences industry.

Australian Institute of Medical Scientists (AIMS) Annual Awards for Excellence in Medical Science - Queensland division were held for the first time in 2016, with eight medical scientists recognised for excellence in categories including:

  • Medical Scientist of the Year
  • Regional/Remote Scientist of the Year
  • Young Medical Scientist of the Year
  • Medical Science Woman of the Year
  • Medical Science Researcher of the Year
  • Laboratory Assistant of the Year
  • Phlebotomist/Pathology Specimen Collector of the Year
  • Queensland Special Recognition Award


The NSW Premier's Prizes for Science & Engineering seek to recognise excellence in science and engineering, and reward leading researchers for cutting-edge work that has generated economic, environmental, health, social or technological benefits for New South Wales. Categories include Excellence in Biological Sciences and Excellence in Medical Biological Sciences, as well as the $60,000 Scientist of the Year prize awarded to an outstanding individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of science and/or engineering which has benefited or has the potential to benefit the people of New South Wales.


The SA Science Excellence Awards showcase the critical importance of science and research to the development of industry and society. The awards acknowledge the achievements of talented individuals, including recent PhD graduates and early career science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) professionals and teachers, who are making an outstanding contribution to society both nationally and internationally. They also celebrate those who have made a significant contribution in their field of research and continue to inspire future generations to become involved in science.


The Premier's Science Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian science community. Award recipients exemplify the outstanding scientific research and engagement efforts taking place in the State. The Awards cover all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics. A $50,000 “Scientist of the Year” prize is awarded to a world class scientist who, over the past 10 years, has demonstrated excellence in a field of science, scientific research or technological advancement. A $10,000 Early Career Scientist of the Year prize is awarded to an outstanding scientist who is within the first five years of completing their highest degree and has demonstrated excellence in a field of science, scientific research or technological advancement.