Sue MacLeman honoured for decades of leadership in the Australian life sciences and medical technologies sector

Banner Image

31 October 2019

Pictured (L-R): MTPConnect Managing Director & CEO Dr Dan Grant, Chair Sue MacLeman, Director Julie Phillips and AusBiotech CEO Lorraine Chiroiu at the AusBiotech Conference in Melbourne.

MTPConnect is pleased to announce that its Chair, Sue MacLeman, has won the prestigious AusBiotech and Johnson & Johnson Innovation Industry Leadership Award, awarded today at the AusBiotech 2019 conference in Melbourne.

Over more than 30 years of outstanding contributions to the medical technology, biotechnology and pharmaceutical sector, Sue has dedicated her career to championing innovation and bridging research and industry to secure better health outcomes for patients and commercial returns for researchers and industry.

Offering his congratulations, MTPConnect Managing Director and CEO, Dr Dan Grant, said the recognition from peers in the industry is richly deserved.

“On behalf of the sector, our Board and our team, we congratulate Sue for this significant achievement,” he said.

“As well as a range of corporate responsibilities, Sue sits on several academic and government advisory committees – she is a talented and highly respected leader.

Sue’s interest and knowledge of product development and commercialisation across biotechnology, pharmaceuticals and medical devices is helping shape development of medical advances for Australians and she is a driving force in advancing the Australian knowledge economy.

“Sue is also a staunch supporter of science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM), demonstrating a rare commitment to upskilling the next generation of leaders in the MTP sector.”

Graduating with a Bachelor of Pharmacy from the University of Queensland in 1984, Sue began her career caring for patients in hospital pharmacy roles before joining the pharmaceutical industry with Schering Plough in 1991.

She has since built an impeccable career with senior leadership roles in corporate, medical, commercial and business development with firms such as Amgen, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Mesoblast along with a number of startups.

In February 2016, when the Australian Government was looking to establish an independent not-for-profit Growth Centre to accelerate growth of the MTP sector, Sue’s standing in the industry and record of achievement across the sector made her the natural choice to serve as the inaugural Managing Director and CEO of MTPConnect. It’s a position she held until July of 2018 before transitioning to become the organisation’s Chair in October 2018.

Her leadership extends to serving on the boards of ASX, AIM and NASDAQ listed companies. She is Chair of Anatara Lifesciences (ASX:ANR) and Novita Healthcare (ASX:NHL) as well as Non-Executive Director of Palla Pharma Ltd (ASX:PAL), Non-Executive Director of Oventus Medical (ASX:OVN) and Non-Executive Director of veski.

On receiving the Award, Sue made the following comment: “I feel deeply honoured to be recognised for my contribution to the medtech, biotech and pharmaceutical industry, and it’s particularly gratifying to know that this recognition has come from my peers in the industry.”

“I am proud to say, together with colleagues in research and industry and across the country, our sector is working to improve health outcomes for Australian and increasingly, having a profound effect on our future economy.”

The AusBiotech and Johnson & Johnson Innovation Industry Excellence Awards recognise innovative companies and individuals in Australia’s world-class biotechnology, medical technology and healthcare sectors. The awards act as an opportunity to celebrate the highest achievers in Australian life sciences, demonstrating what is possible when vision and dedication come together.