MTPConnect is guided by an experienced Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors

Sue MacLeman – Chair

Sue MacLeman has more than 30 years’ experience as a pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical technology executive having held senior roles in corporate, medical, commercial and business development. Sue has also served as CEO and Board member of several ASX and NASDAQ listed companies in the pharmaceutical sector and is currently Chair of MTPConnect (MTPII-GC Ltd), Chair of Anatara Lifesciences Ltd (ASX:ANR), Chair of Novita Healthcare Ltd (ASX:NHL), Non-Executive Director of Palla Pharma Ltd (ASX:PAL), Non-Executive Director of Oventus Medical Ltd (ASX:OVN) and Non-Executive Director of veski. Sue is also appointed to several academic and government advisory committees.

Dr Dan Grant - Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer

Dr Dan Grant has spent more than 25 years in senior roles in the pharmaceutical, higher education and medical research sectors. Prior to joining MTPConnect, Dr Grant was the inaugural Pro Vice Chancellor for Industry Engagement at La Trobe University where he had oversight of the university's innovation, commercialisation and industry engagement activities. He was also the Senior Director and Head of Pfizer's External Research and Development Innovation group for ANZ/Singapore and their head of open innovation. Dan also sits on the Expert Advisory Panel for the Stem Cell Mission. He has a PhD in Cardiovascular Physiology and an MBA.

Dr Nicholas Cerneaz – Director

Dr Cerneaz has been building companies to commercialise academic research for more than two decades. After gaining a D. Phil from Oxford University in the early 90s in mammography technologies assisting the management of breast cancer, he has worked extensively guiding and advising the development of a number of medical technology startup companies, covering a variety of fields including radiology, oncology, ophthalmology, pathology and immunology. Other industrial experience includes automation and process optimisation in heavy manufacturing and process industries, astronomy instrumentation design and implementation, and advanced computer vision safety systems for the automotive industry. With MyHealthTest Pty Ltd, a Canberra based medtech startup, he worked to bring convenient pathology services to consumers with do-it-yourself (at home) sample collection and test results delivered online to both patient and doctor. Dr Cerneaz has also previously been a director of various NFP and AIM listed companies.

Julie Phillips – Director

Julie Phillips has a strong background in the biotech and pharmaceutical industry, having worked as the CEO and Director of start-up Australian biotechnology companies operating in the life sciences sector. Her technical background is in clinical trials, regulatory affairs and pharmacoeconomic assessment/pricing of therapeutics. Ms Phillips is currently Chair of AusBiotech Ltd, the peak biotechnology industry association in Australia, CEO and Director of biotechnology company, BioDiem Ltd and its subsidiary Opal Biosciences, Ltd. She is a member of the Council of the University of Newcastle, and Innovation Australia’s R&D Incentive Committee.

Dr Douglas Robertson – Director

Dr Robertson is the Director of Research Services at The Australian National University and has over 30 periods’ experience in research, economic development, technology transfer, spin-out companies and commercialisation in the UK and Australia. During that time he has negotiated over $3bn of research funding, served on the boards of over 20 technology companies and assisted the establishment of over 20 other early stage technology businesses. Dr Robertson was a founding Director of PraxisUnico (formerly Praxis), a major UK and international technology transfer and training association, from 2003-2013 and Chair in 2012 and 2013. Dr Robertson serves on the boards of four NCRIS facilities.

Phillip Hains – Company Secretary

Mr Hains holds almost 30 years experience in corporate accounting, administration, and general management, and has served on a number of public company boards and related committees. Phillip is driven to achieve, and finds continual inspiration in his colleagues and employees. His depth of experience in the corporate world has also taught him that successful people know how to have fun.He is the founder of The CFO Solution, and is a passionate advocate of The Australian Outward Bound Foundation (OBA). Mr Hains has given back to the community through his sponsorship and pro bono work for OBA, as well as assisting many of his friends, family and staff to attend OBA courses. He is currently a Director and Treasurer/Secretary of OBA. Mr Hains holds an MBA from RMIT University and obtained his Public Practice Certificate from Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand in 1998.